HOME  >  Study and Learn  >  Question List  >  Q & A
Study Guide

The tiger has how many extant subspecies?



As of 2004, the tiger has six recognized extant (not extinct) subspecies. They are:

1) Amur tiger (Panthera tigris altaica)
--- Amur River Region (Border of Russia and China)

2) Bengal tiger (Panthera tigris tigris)
--- India

3) Indochinese tiger (Panthera tigris corbetti)
--- Southeast Asia

4) Malayan Tiger (Panthera tigris jacksoni or malayensis)
--- Malay Peninsula of Southeast Asia

5) South China tiger (Panthera tigris amoyensis)
--- Southcentral China

6) Sumatran tiger (Panthera tigris sumatrae)
--- Sumatra, Indonesia

There are also three recognized extinct subspecies:

1) Bali tiger (Panthera tigris balica)
--- Bali, Indonesia

2) Caspian tiger (Panthera tigris virgata)
--- West Asia through Central Asia

3) Javan tiger (Panthera tigris sondaica)
--- Java, Indonesia

Battle of the Brains

This question is part of the Battle of the Brains, a multiple choice learning game.

37% of the game players picked the right answer on the first try.

Play Now!

Copyright © vanAnnies. All rights reserved.